Book Reviews

While much of the focus of A Good Reed Review is on the performing arts in the form of reviews and commentary, the written word is also artistic in its own way. As such, it too deserves some attention. Below is a list of book reviews ordered by author. The books in this list are not limited to any particular genre or publication date. While some of the books are reviewed shortly after publication, or in a few rare cases even before public release, the vast majority are books that have been around for some time and captured Ande’s attention in some way. Enjoy!

To view the list of reviews by book title, see: Book Title List.


Join Amazon Kindle Unlimited 30-Day Free Trial


Angelina A. Allsop

Follow Peter Green into AfterLife, his new, “unliving” state of being (Peter Green and the Unliving Academy, TCK Publishing (November 20, 2018))


Jacob M. Appel

‘Einstein’s Beach House’ takes a sharp, yet witty view of life  (Einstein’s Beach House, Pressgang (December 5, 2014))


David Baldacci

It only takes a ‘Split Second’ (Split Second, Columbus Rose, Ltd. (2003))

Breaking the code (Simple Genius, Columbus Rose, Ltd. (January 1, 2007))

Can we believe the reports? (The Whole Truth, Grand Central Publishing (2008))

The law applies to everyone, even the ‘First Family’ (First Family, Columbus Rose, Ltd. (2009))

How to stop the evil doers (Deliver Us from Evil, Columbus Rose, Ltd. (2010))


Daniel Bangham

The book every woodwind player and technician should have (Woodwind Instruments: a practical guide for technicians and repairers, The Crowood Press (October 2022))


Dan Brown

Dan Brown’s ‘Inferno’ takes readers on an unforgettable journey (Inferno, Doubleday (May 14, 2013))


Hillary Clinton & Louise Penny

What keeps a Secretary of State up at night? (State of Terror, Simon & Schuster; St. Martin’s Press (October 2021))


Richard Dawkins

The God Delusion – Why limit our perception? (The God Delusion, Bantam Press (2006))


Clive Fleury

Clive Fleury’s ‘Kill Code’ is a compelling read (Kill Code, TCK Publishing (December 3, 2018))


Robert Ford

‘The Student Conductor’ masterfully merges politics, history, fiction, and musical reality (The Student Conductor, G. P. Putnam’s Sons (September 29, 2003))


Yuval Noah Harari

‘Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind’ – a story of where we came from and where we might be going (Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind, Harper (February 10, 2015))

Follow-on thoughts about ‘Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind’ – Part 1: Common Myths (Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind, Harper (February 10, 2015))

Follow-on thoughts about ‘Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind’ – Part 2: Happiness (Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind, Harper (February 10, 2015))

‘Homo Deus’ – will AIs replace Homo sapiens? (Homo Deus: A Brief History of Tomorrow, Harper (February 21, 2017))


Teri Kanefield

We need more people like Ruth Bader Ginsburg (Free to Be Ruth Bader Ginsburg: The Story of Women and Law, Armon Books (2016))


Greg Lukianoff & Jonathan Haidt

Are we training people to fear rather than think? (The Coddling of the American Mind: How Good Intentions and Bad Ideas Are Setting Up a Generation for Failure, Penguin Random House LLC (September 4, 2018))


Sy Montgomery

‘The Soul of an Octopus’ opens up a whole new world (The Soul of an Octopus: A Surprising Exploration into the Wonder of Consciousness, Atria, (May 1, 2015))


Dr. Heather Cox Richardson

How the South Won the Civil War unmasks the American paradox (How the South Won the Civil War, Oxford University Press, (April 1, 2020))


J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, Jack Thorne

“Harry Potter and the Cursed Child” adds a thrilling eighth chapter to the series (Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, Little, Brown (July 31, 2016))


Kate Quinn

‘The Rose Code’ puzzles reach beyond the walls of Bletchley Park (The Rose Code, William Morrow (March 9, 2021))


Jenna Ryan

What if you could see the future? (The Channeler: A Future Forwarned (Continuum Series Book 1, TCK Publishing (January 18, 2019))


Oliver Sacks

‘Musicophilia’ – how music touches us all (Musicophila, Alfred A. Knopf, Inc. (October 16, 2007))


Shankar Vedantam

‘The Hidden Brain’ – how much do we really know about what we think? (The Hidden Brain: How Our Unconscious Minds Elect Presidents, Control Markets, Wage Wars, and Save Our Lives, Spiegel & Grau (August 31, 2010))


Matthew Walker, PhD

‘Why We Sleep’ shows that sleep makes us smarter and healthier (Why We Sleep: Unlocking The Power Of Sleep And Dreams, Schribner (October 1, 2017))


Isabel Wilkerson

To dream of a world without caste (Caste: The Origins of Our Discontents, Random House (August 4, 2020))


Bob Woodward and Robert Costa

The nation is in ‘Peril’ (Peril, Simon & Schuster (September 2021))


Amazon.com – Read eBooks using the FREE Kindle Reading App on Most Devices

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.